2020 IIJL Commonwealth Cup Roster Announced


The Canadian Lacrosse League is happy to announce the 20 Man Roster for Canada that will head to Melbourne, VIC Australia in March and compete for the 2020 IIJL Commonwealth Cup at Westgate Indoor Sports Complex. 

All twenty of the players selected have participated in at least one Regional Combine held over the last three seasons. Additionally, there are four returning players that have competed with Canada internationally; defenders Michael Grace (Burlington Chiefs - OJALL) and Bryce Dueck (Saskatchewan SWAT - RMJALL) both played at the 2019 E-Box in Prague, Czech Republic, Alberta forward Callin Harris (Edmonton Miners - RMJALL) played at 2019 E-Box and the 2019 IIJL World Junior Lacrosse Championship, and lastly Ontario goaltender Landon Kells (Peterborough Lakers - OJALL/Calgary Roughnecks NLL) who backstopped Canada to a second consecutive gold medal at 2019 World Juniors and was named 1st Team All-World. 

Rounding out the goaltending duo is British Columbian Ashton LeClair (Delta Islanders - BCJALL). In front of the goalies the defence will include; from Ontario Will Cecile (Burlington Chiefs - OJALL), from Saskatchewan Samuel Marshall (Saskatchewan SWAT - RMJBLL), from Alberta Sean Kriwokon (Okotoks Raiders - RMJALL), Evan Gartner (Calgary Mountaineers - RMJALL), Mattias Flammenspeck (Calgary Mountaineers - RMJALL), and from British Columbia Nash Moog (Port Coquitlam Saints - BCJALL). 

In transition Canada will look for speed and smart ball movement from British Columbian Rhys MacDonald (Victoria Shamrocks - BCJT1LL), and Albertan Mason McQuiggin (Calgary Shamrocks - RMJBLL) who is fresh off of a Founders Cup Championship. 

On offence Callin Harris will be joined on the left side by; from Ontario Tyler Davis (Six Nations - OJALL) and from British Columbia Braiden Struss-Reid (Langley Thunder - BCJT1LL) and Austin Wahl (Port Coquitlam Saints - BCJALL). The right side will see some familiarity with an all-Alberta group in Kean Moon (Okotoks Raiders - RMJALL), Lukas Olsson (Calgary Chill - RMJBLL/Calgary Mountaineers - RMJALL), Eric George (Fort Saskatchewan Rebels - RMJBLL), and Nolan Oakey (Rockyview Silvertips - RMJBLL). 

"The Commonwealth Cup roster came together organically with specific needs we have heading up to the next few World Juniors." Said Chris Fox Canada's General Manager. "Our focus for the Commonwealth Cup roster was on 2002's, building their leadership qualities, providing them with a valuable experience, and taking a deeper look at what we have at that age group." Fox elaborated. "While the addition of October's 2020 IIJL World U17 Lacrosse Championship in Six Nations will provide international opportunities for the younger 2003 and 2004 age groups." 

Canada's leadership group for the Commonwealth Cup will set a good standard and provide guidance for the young roster. Michael Grace and Callin Harris will serve as Alternate Captains and Bryce Dueck will wear the 'C' as Captain. 

Schedule, streaming, stats, and clinics surrounding the 2020 IIJL Commonwealth Cup will be released as details are finalized. To keep up to date with Canada follow the Canadian Lacrosse League on social media, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. Information on Australian Box Lacrosse can be found on their website (click here) and on social media; Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter

Established in 2019, the inaugural IIJL Commonwealth Cup will take place in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia March 17-20, 2020. Tickets for the 2020 IIJL Commonwealth Cup are available through the Altona Lacrosse Clubwebsite. Stay up to date using social media on Facebook and Instagram.